top of page
Search

Talk About Suicide

I was in a support group, of sorts, talking openly and emotionally about what I am struggling with right now. I said that I mark my recovery by my last suicide attempt. It has been 5.5 years. I am proud of this date. I do not want to give this date up, but I am struggling with some things. I was interrupted during my share and told that, "we do not talk about suicide in this group." I lost my train of thought and stopped sharing. Thank the Universe I am not at risk, and thank God I have Recovery enough to take care of myself. I am sorry if that word makes you uncomfortable. But by shutting me down, you signified to me and to everyone in that meeting room that this is NOT a safe place - Assuming they know if there is ANY safe place to openly talk about Suicide. Many people have the conception that talking about suicide will increase the risk that someone will become suicidal or act on in. There is no evidence to prove this - and in fact openly talking about (especially talking about working through the RECOVERY from) Suicide may encourage others to talk about it and seek help. ScreenShot taken from: https://crisiscentre.bc.ca/frequently-asked-questions-about-suicide/



7 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page